I don’t want my Facebook profile memorialized

According to Facebook

“When a user passes away, we memorialize their account to protect their privacy. Memorializing an account removes certain sensitive information (e.g., status updates and contact information) and sets privacy so that only confirmed friends can see the profile or locate it in search. The Wall remains so that friends and family can leave posts in remembrance. Memorializing an account also prevents all login access to it.”

Well, I don’t want that to ever happen to my account.

I want my friends to always be able to see everything on my wall and all over the place, all that “sensitive information,” if they really want to. I want everything to remain open for anyone to see. I want my family to be able to login to my account and read through all my inbox mail, everything… if they really want to.

So consider this my official statement. When I die, don’t let Facebook know. But if they find out, use this post as proof that I don’t want my account memorialized.

Signed,

Marshall Jones Jr.

|